No  |  En   Country

Dangerous goods

– the 9 classes of dangerous goods

‘Dangerous goods’ are materials or items with hazardous properties which, if not properly controlled, present a potential hazard to human health and safety, infrastructure and/ or their means of transport.

The transportation of dangerous goods is controlled and governed by a variety of different regulatory regimes, operating at both the national and international levels. Prominent regulatory frameworks for the transportation of dangerous goods include the United Nations Recommendations on the Transport of Dangerous Goods, ICAO’s Technical Instructions, IATA’s Dangerous Goods Regulations and the IMO’s International Maritime Dangerous Goods Code. Collectively, these regulatory regimes mandate the means by which dangerous goods are to be handled, packaged, labelled and transported.

Regulatory frameworks incorporate comprehensive classification systems of hazards to provide a taxonomy of dangerous goods. Classification of dangerous goods is broken down into nine classes according to the type of danger materials or items present, click on a class to read more details;

1. Explosives


2. Gases


3. Flammable Liquids


4. Flammable Solids


5. Oxidizing Substances


6. Toxic & Infectious Substances


7. Radioactive Material


8. Corrosives


9. Miscellaneous Dangerous Goods

The multitude of dangerous goods regimes across the world and the complexity of dangerous goods classifications and regulations render compliance a particularly difficult task. However ColliCare Logistics Turkey, as a logistics company specialising in dangerous goods, is well placed to deliver tailored solutions to all customer’s dangerous goods needs.

ColliCare Logistics Turkey, is proficient in all nine classes of dangerous goods and provides a range of services including labelling and freight forwarding.

Primary Hazard Class and Subsidiary Class for Dangerous Goods

Some dangerous goods have multiple hazards. The primary class is the class of dangerous goods that takes precedence over any other class. The subsidiary class is the other class that further identifies the hazards of the dangerous goods. More than one subsidiary class is possible. For most of dangerous goods, the primary class and subsidary class can be found in Dangerous Goods List.

For goods having multiple risks which are not specifically mentioned by name in Dangerous Goods List, you have to follow the following hazard precedence rules to determine their primary hazard class and subsidiary class.
img 0825
How it works:
img 0825
Hazard Precedence
If above two rules do not apply, please refer to the following hazard precedence table to choose primary hazard.
img 0825
Dominant Hazard
The following hazard class always takes precedence irrespective of packing groups:

Materials class 7 (except radio-active materials in excepted packages)
Substances and articles of class 1
Gases of class 2
Liquide desensitised explosives of class 3
Self-reactive sunstances and solid desensitised explosives of division 4.1
Pyrophoric substances of division 4.2
Substances of division 5.1
Substances og division 6.1 or class 3 with packing group by inhalation
Infectious substances of division 6.2
img 0825
Hazard Precedence
If above two rules do not apply, please refer to the following hazard precedence table to choose primary hazard.
Yalcin Geceren, Global Business Development in ColliCare Logistics
Yalcin Geceren
Global Business Development
+90 212 809 1313
Leave your email address here if you want to know more about our services
Dangerouse goods - ColliCare Logistics
Dangerous goods
Akaryakıt antrepoları ve buralara konulacak eşya
Akaryakıt antrepoları ve buralara konulacak eşya